525 Court Street

 

Architecture:

    Style:                        Colonial Revival

    Description:              It is a symmetrical, two story wood frame building with a cut stone foundation, aluminum clad first story, and cement shingle second story.  This turn of the century structure has a unique design.  The hipped roof has hipped dormers on the east and west.  A lower off center gable faces south, is enclosed by a pent roof, and caps a two story semi-hexagonal bay.  The southwest and northwest corners have squared bays with pyramidal roofs, almost appearing like small square towers.  The main entrance is centered and there is no porch.  This building is located on the property northeast of Court and 6th streets.

 

Significant Period:

    Construction Date:     circa 1917

    Architect/Builder:       Unknown

    Context:                    It first appears in the 1918-19 Port Huron City Directory.  The first residents were Franklin K. and Elizabeth D. Lyman.  He was president of the Robeson Preso Product Company.  Stanley W. and Gertrude McFarland lived there from 1920 to 1930.  His business was real estate.  He was also treasurer of the Port Huron Golf and Country Club.  There followed a succession of residents, Edgar Sites in 1933, Horace Johnston in 1936, Charles Butman in 1938, and Edward Hays in 1940.  The building is now occupied by Peggy & Bea’s Bookkeeping Service.